Canopy Links

The forest canopy may seem out of reach to some, but it is not; it is totally accessible, and the links below have all the information needed for people of all abilities to walk through, hang from, sleep in, and climb around the top of the forest. Note to lawyers: just because a site is listed here does not infer an endorsement.

Canopy Towers and Walkways

Canopy Walkway, Sacha Lodge, Ecuador.
Canopy Walkway, Sacha Lodge, Ecuador.

The Canopy Walk, Sacha Lodge, Ecuador: http://www.sachalodge.com/attractions/#the-canopy-walk

Canopy Lodge and Tower, Panama: http://www.canopytower.com/

Canopy Tower, Pico Bonito Lodge, Honduras: http://www.picobonito.com/index.php/birding/pico-bontio-in-audubon

Dlinza Canopy Boardwalk, South Africa: http://www.southafrica.net/za/en/articles/entry/article-the-dlinza-forest

Kendeda Canopy Walk, Atlanta, Georgia: http://atlantabg.org/plan-your-visit/map-locations/kendeda-canopy-walk

Murch Canopy Walk, Kirtland, Ohio: http://www.holdenarb.org/visit/canopywalk.asp

 

Canopy excursions

Expedition Old Growth: http://expeditionoldgrowth.com/

Pacific Tree Climbing Institute http://www.pacifictreeclimbing.com/?title=page&page_id=5&page_title=Overnight%20Expeditions

Tropical Tree Climbing, Amazon Brazil: http://www.tropicaltreeclimbing.com/

 

Suppliers of tree climbing equipment

Arbortools Hong Kong – www.arbortools.hk

Honey Brothers Arborist Equipment – www.honeybros.com

ISA – www.isa-arbor.com/store/shop.aspx

New Tribe – www.newtribe.com

SherrillTree – www.sherrilltree.com

TreeStuff – www.treestuff.com

Treetools – treetools.co.nz

Treeworker – www.treeworker.co.uk/acatalog/About_Treeworker.html

WesSpur Tree Equipment – www.wesspur.com

 

Arborist trade publications

Arborist News (ISA publication)

Tree Care Industry Association (TCIA) monthly magazine

 

National, international, and on-line climbing affiliations

Climbing Arborist.com – www.climbingarborist.com

European Tree Worker – www.eac-arboriculture.com/en/Aus_undWeiterbildung.aspx

International Canopy Network – ican.csme.utah.edu

International Society of Arboriculture – www.isa-arbor.com

Tree Care Industry Association – tcia.org

Tree Climbing Japan – www.treeclimbing.net/en/what-we-do/arborist-tree-climbing.aspx

Victorian Tree Climbing Organization – www.vtio.org.au

 

Tree climber training

ArborMaster – www.arbormaster.com

Cornell Tree Climbing Institute – treeclimbing.coe.cornell.edu

National Tree Climbing Program – www.fs.fed.us/treeclimbing/training

North American Training Solutions – northamericantrainingsolutions.com

Tree Climbers International – treeclimbing.com

Tree Climbing Planet – www.treeclimbingplanet.com

Arborculture Canada – www.arborcanada.com

Ascension Group NW – www.ascensiongroupnw.com/

 

Books and documents

Review of rope-based methods for the forest canopy.  2015, by Anderson, Koomjian, French, Altenhoff, and Luce.  This pdf is the essential guide to tree climbing safety.  Anderson et al. 2015 – MEE Rope-based access methods

http://www.methodsinecologyandevolution.org/view/0/covergallery.html#6-8

Glocal Canopy Handbook – An excellent source on canopy access methods. http://www.amazon.com/The-Global-Canopy-Handbook-Techniques/dp/0954297008

Tree Climbers Companion – If you need a single guide for tree climbing, this is it.  http://www.treestuff.com/store/catalog.asp?category_id=74&item=2

 

Conservation and education in the forest canopy

Ascending the Giants – http://ascendingthegiants.com/

Explore Trees – http://www.explore-trees.com/#intro

International Canopy Network (ICAN) – http://academic.evergreen.edu/projects/canopylab/ican/

Emergent Tree Works – http://www.emergenttreeworks.com/

Old-Growth Forest Network – http://www.oldgrowthforest.net/

The Native Tree Society – http://www.nativetreesociety.org/

 

Forest canopy research

Osa Ears – Real Time Rain Forest Sound, Costa Rica: http://www.osa-ears.org/

more coming soon

 

Videos

Treeverse – https://vimeo.com/22858880

Oregon Tree Care – https://vimeo.com/120870257

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share the canopy, save the forest